Analyzing a poem with Formative?

Hi, everyone!

I’m new to Formative, and I would love some feedback. I teach 10th grade English to mixed classes of special and general education students, many of whom are reluctant readers and writers. I started using Formative because my students are much more enthusiastic about their work if they get to use technology; I try to integrate multimedia and other intriguing stuff whenever possible.

We are working through a unit on rhetorical strategies and literary devices. Here’s a Formative I made to help my kids practice their close reading skills. What do you think? I watched @Lisa_Scumpieru 's presentation on making Formatives with style and @david’s presentation on app-smashing before I made this, and found them both helpful. But is this Formative too long and confusing? How can I improve the way I teach and present this poem?

[Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening Formative]( link https://goformative.com/clone/QNEQOG)

Thanks!

Claire

3 Likes

Hello @csewimbush! Great to have another 10th grade English teacher here! I really love your formative. I think it’s taking them deeper as they go. From what I see, you have at least three days of work here if you want the kids to delve deeper. However, I’m thinking that if you would split the Formative into three separate formatives, you would not overwhelm the students the first day. I’m thinking this:

Day one: Have them do questions 1-7 with what you have around the questions. I love the scaffolding of questions.
Day two: 8-11with some sort of question added for the brain break.
Day three: Bringing it all together with question 12 and then a sharing of each other’s stories.

I hope that you are okay with me helping a bit, but I know my students like things to be chunked. I was thinking of doing a webinar showing how I chunked the text “Antigone” to make it accessible for all students. Have a great day.

2 Likes