How do you use Formative to build class culture early in the school year?

Good morning! My name is Mike Szczepanik. I am honored to co-moderate, with Jason, this week’s Slow Chat: Exploring new Heights with Formative!

I am a High School Biology teacher at Hilton HS located outside of Rochester NY. I should tell you I am new to Formative but I really dove in and it has become my go-to technology this year.

So here we go with this week’s slow chat Q1
@informed_members
@Certified_Educators

1 Like

Im Jason Jorgensen and I am here as well. Likewise honored to moderate with Mike. I am a Middle School Social Studies teacher. I am new to formative and am growing fond of it at the same time that I adjust to using it in class.

2 Likes

I try to use Spanish/French as much as possible in my class and have students use Spanish/French as mush as possible as well. Therefore, when we use formative I also try to make sure that they give students opportunities to use the target language as much as possible. That might mean, recording spoken responses, writing short answers to questions in the target language, drawing something in response to statements in Spanish/French, categorizing things in Spanish/French. Bottom line, anything I can do to get them to manipulate the material, without using English, and I feel like this supports the class culture that we are building together.
Also, I think that the idea of formative assessment alone is an important part of class culture. The opportunity to make mistakes, understand what we know and what we don’t know, get feedback, and then try again (I often allow re-submissions) are really important to create a culture of healthy learners.

2 Likes

I have been using Formative for the past two years. I’ve found that students really open up and seem to become more comfortable with the ability to make mistakes. I teach in a very competitive district and students are always being pushed to take more advanced classes.