Iron Chef slow chat. Formative, Edpuzzle and Flipgrid

Hi @informed_members and @Certified_Educators . I’m Danielle Moore. I teach middle school Spanish and Social Studies just outside of Chicago. I am passionate about edtech tools that allow multiple ways for students to be successful. I’ve been using Formative for a few years and I love it for its versatility.

For the Iron Chef activity i used the following ingredients:
Formative as my base. I utilized the embed feature to embed my other ingredients. I used the short answer question types for students to answer questions what they learned from the videos. This is how I will give students feedback on the written part of the lesson. The date from this will drive our writing instruction in future lessons.
Youtube-I selected a video from Youtube for a short review for students. Students answered questions to demonstrate their understanding.
Flipgrid. I wanted to practice speaking and respond to their peers as well. Students had two speaking tasks on Flipgrid one task after each video.
Edpuzzle. This lesson has two video components. The second video came from Edpuzzle. The Edpuzzle video had questions embedded throughout to formatively assess students and give them automatic feedback. I like using Edpuzzle because I can see how many times a student rewinds the video for a question and because i can insert comments as well.

I really love cooking up these types of lessons for my students. I have used similar lessons with the same ingredients before and it always works out wonderfully.

Formative assessment Iron Chef edition https://goformative.com/clone/BNXPDJ
Feedback? Do you cook up lessons like this? What ingredients would you include for your content area? Are you interested in trying this out this year? Let me know!

7 Likes