Looking for ways to create student-centered discussions

Hey Formative folks! So one goal I have this year is to make classroom discussions more student-centered. In the past, I’ve been pretty good at picking out examples of student work, projecting them at the front of the class ,and having students identify mistakes. That being said, it still feels like I am somewhat GPSing kids towards the “answer”.

Does anyone have any ideas for creating more student-centered discussions? Although I teach math, I’d appreciate feedback regardless of what subject you teach!

new-piktochart_24960954

4 Likes

Hey Adam! I am definitely no expert at this and would love to hear everyone else’s ideas as well. That being said, as a fellow math teacher I can tell you that some of the best discussions I’ve heard in my classroom are when students are talking in groups and I am taking a back seat.

What do you usually hope to accomplish when holding a class discussion. If making sure that students are giving each other great feedback, here’s a model that I love to share with my students. It’s from Alice Leung (@aliceleung on Twitter).

6 Likes

Hi Adam!

I love that goal. Student-centered activities/discussions are definitely key to deeper understanding and meaningful learning. Teachthought.com is an amazing resource when it comes to generating ideas to get encourage active learning. Here are 28 Student-Centered Instructional Strategies you can use to activate student engagement.