What are some of the mentalities/habits that you personally have to fight against as you work to maintain a standards-based learning environment

@informed_members @Certified_Educators

@mgarcia, @d.vendramin, and I are continuing our conversation about standards based grading today as we look at overcoming some of our habits that might be getting in the way.

As a student I was most familiar with a grading system of averages and earning extra credit for bringing in supplies. This is very different from what standards-based-grading hopes to accomplish (clearly communicate what students know and are able to do).

Whether you are in a building that is centered on standards-based-grading, or are looking to maintain this kind of learning environment in your classroom, we’d love to hear what mentalities or habits you have to work to break free of and any suggestions you might have for others!

58%20PM

5 Likes

I don’t give grades but proficency levels with the hope that students will want to improve. The biggest obstacle is the mindset that where they are is where they stay and encourgement to try again isn’t getting through. They also want to know what their grade is all of the time - many are still learning how to work with the feedback. No one else does this so they are used to seeing the grade and that is the end of that topic.

GoFormative is great for my upgrades for those students who chose to improve though, and it is one of my favourite ways to use it.

:slight_smile:
Dawn

4 Likes

Thanks for sharing @Dawn_Frier1!

My middle school students have a similar struggle - some will be very motivated to improve, others will just take what they have and want to move on and forget about it.

Have you found anything helpful in working with students to embrace this standards-based/growth mindset?

What have you found to be the best way to respond to students (and parents?) who want to constantly know their percentage grade?

2 Likes